08
Nov
08

Authentic Mexican Food

Today my father and I went to a giant Farmer’s Market/ Flea Market.My Avocados
It is open every Saturday and Sunday around here and is a blast to walk around, looking at all the wares and fresh food off Florida farms. I bought two giant avocados and my dad bought five cloves of garlic and pecans. He plans on making pecan pie tonight, and I absolutely will be eating it. It is a blackstrap molasses pecan pie… So, welcome back, five pound I lost as of this morning!

But I am leaving out the sole reason we went to the Farmers Market to begin with. Every week, there is a small traveling trailer, in which a Mexican family that barely speaks English, serves authentic Mexican food. This stuff is not Tex-Mex, my friends. It is straight from acrossMy beautiful avocados! the border and  deliciously mouth-watering. The first time we went, I tried both their chicken tacos and their pork tacos. Equally good, in different ways. The meat is tender and juicy, lightly flavored with grease and spices. It sits inside a soft corn tortilla and is topped with fresh cilantro and devastatingly spicy “salsa verde”. I’ve thought about nothing else but those tacos for the last two weeks.

So, today, my dad and I decided to tear it up. We split four chicken tacos, 1 giant burrito, four tostados and finally, an authentic quesdilla, which is nothing like the flour tortilla quesadillas you get at any given restaurant in the U.S. The only thing that stopped us was me blowing up like a  balloon. I waddled to the car with no regrets, but with a slight twinge of conscience.

This restaurant has no name, but it is my favorite one for the time being. The tostados were fantastic, tortilla fried until puffy and crunchy, with an earthy but buttery flavor. The meat and beans on top were covered with fresh lettuce, cilantro and real, thick Parmesan cheese. The quesadilla was filled with succulent chorizo and topped with salsa verde. Delightful.

My stomach hates me right now, but I still have a smile on my face from the memory of inhaling three tacos and my mouth swollen and stinging from the outrageously spicy, but flavorful salsa.

Mmmmm. I love Mexican food. I love cilantro. I love avocados…

4 Responses to “Authentic Mexican Food”


  1. November 29, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    sounds yummy! my fav mex restaurant is just down the street from my house–they have the BEST margaritas and i love how they season their carne asada~!

    funny double entendre there in the picture–intentional?

  2. November 29, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Ha ha, guilty as charged!

    They were such beautiful avocados and tasted delicious too. They are more buttery than the smaller, darker avocados. Cut off a slice with salt and pepper, on the side of some dirty rice or homemade tacos and oh yum!

  3. 3 John in CA
    January 18, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Looked at the comments to see if anyone other than I had noticed the eroticism of the second picture. Apparently so, and evidently, it wasn’t an accident – tease!

    @slugger41

  4. January 18, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Haha!

    C’mon, can you blame me??

    Nice to see you are enjoying the Delectable Jen. 🙂


Leave a Reply

